



# The 27<sup>th</sup> Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference Mariehamn, Åland Islands, 26-28 August 2018

The Baltic Sea – Our Life Line

Cooperation, Sustainability and Smart Energy

Three pillars for future development



## Programme

Registration, Plenum and other meetings will take place in the Parliament building Ålands Lagting, Strandgatan 37, Mariehamn

### Saturday, 25 August

12.00-15.00 Participants registration and information desk available at the Entrance Hall, Ålands Lagting

### Sunday, 26 August

08:30-15.00 Participants registration and information desk available at the *Entrance Hall, Ålands Lagting* 

## 10.00-12.00 **Meeting of the BSPC Drafting Committee** *Ålands Lagting, Plenary Hall*

12.00 Coffee break / snacks

12.30-14.00 Meeting of the BSPC Standing Committee Ålands Lagting, Plenary Hall

### Excursions on the following themes:

- 12.30-17.00 Excursion No 1: Daily life in the Archipelago, visit on the small island and municipality of *Föglö* in the archipelago (*Incl. 25 min trip with a ferry*)
- 14.00-17.00 Excursion No 2: Åland history and political background to the present Autonomy (Bustrip on the main island and a visit to the Bomarsund Fortressarea)

All buses leave from Alands Lagting, Strandgatan 37, Mariehamn

19.00-22.00 Reception and Dinner hosted by Ålands lagting Venue: Badhusparken Pavillion

### Monday, 27 August

8.30-9.30 Meeting of the BSPC Drafting Committee (if necessary) *Ålands Lagting, Plenary Hall* 

### 09.30 **OPENING**

Chair: Jörgen Pettersson, MP, President of the BSPC Vice-Chair: Carola Veit, MP, Hamburg, Vice-President of the BSPC Ålands Lagting, Plenary Hall

Jörgen Pettersson, MP, President of the BSPC Introduction

**Ms. Gun-Mari Lindholm,** President of Ålands Lagting, "Welcome address"

#### Quartett of young musicians from Åland

J. Sibelius: Andante festivo

**H.E. Mr. Sauli Niinistö,** President of the Republic of Finland Opening speech

**Ms. Paula Lehtomäki**, State Secretary to the Prime Minister of Finland "Finlands Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region "

#### 10.05 **Family photo**

Inside the Plenary Hall

### 10.20 FIRST SESSION

Cooperation in the Baltic Sea Region

Chair: Jörgen Pettersson, MP, President of the BSPC

Vice-Chair: Jorodd Asphjell, MP, Norway, Vice-President of the BSPC

Report by Mr. Jörgen Pettersson, MP, President of the BSPC

**Report by Ms. Carola Veit,** President of the Hamburg Parliament, Vice-President of the BSPC – "Implementation of the 26<sup>th</sup> BSPC Resolution"

Report from the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS)

- Mr Hans Olsson, Outgoing CBSS Chair, Ambassador of Sweden
- **Mr Juris Bone**, Chairman of the CBSS Committee of Senior Officials Ambassador-at-Large of Latvia

**Mr. Hans Wallmark, MP,** Chairman of the BSPC Working Group on Migration and Integration – Midway Report of the WG

**Mr. Simon Holmström and Ms. Hanna Salmén,** representatives of the Youth Event: Regeneration 2030

#### **Debate**

#### 12.30-13.15 **Lunch** outside the Plenary Hall

#### 13.15 THE FIRST SESSION continues Cooperation in the Baltic Sea Region

**Ms. Christina Gestrin,** former MP Finnish Parliament and BSPC President "Environmental Cooperation in the Baltic Sea region"

Report on the work of the CBSS/BSLF Coordination Group on Labour and Employment, joint report by:

- **Mr. Franz Thönnes**, former MP German Bundestag and BSPC President, Baltic Sea Labour Forum (BSLF)
- **Ms. Daria Akhutina**, CBSS Senior Advisor on Economic Issues, coordinator for Baltic Sea Labour Forum' and secretary to CBSS Expert Group on maritime issues.
- Mr. Pyry Niemi, BSPC-Rapporteur on Labour Market and Social Welfare, Member of the Swedish Parliament

#### **Briefings from BSPC Rapporteurs**

- Mr. Jörgen Pettersson and Mr. Jochen Schulte on Integrated Maritime Policy
- Ms. Karin Gaardsted on Cultural Affairs
- Ms. Sylvia Bretschneider and Ms. Sara Kemetter on Sustainable Tourism
- Ms. Sylvia Bretschneider and Ms. Saara-Sofia Sirén on HELCOM
- Ms. Saara-Sofia Sirén on Eutrophication

## Addresses by the Representatives of other Parliamentary Assemblies and International Guests

#### **Baltic Sea States Subregional Co-operation (BSSSC)**

• Mr. Roger Ryberg, Chairman of the BSSSC

#### Northern Dimension Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being

• Ms. Ulla-Karin Nurm, Director of the NDPHS

#### **Baltic Sea Center, Stockholm University**

• **Gun Rudquist,** Head of Policy, Baltic Eye, "Bridging the gap between science and policy – an example from Stockholm University Baltic Sea Center"

15.00-15.30 Coffee break

### 15.30 -17.30 **SECOND SESSION**

The Vision of a Healthy Baltic Sea - A Call for more Action

Chair: Prof Jānis Vucāns, MP, Latvia,

Co-Chair: Dorota Arciszewska-Mielewczyk, MP, Poland

Mr. Karmenu Vella, EU Commissioner for Environment,
Maritime Affairs and Fisheries "Protecting our environment while
maintaining our competitiveness in regards to the UN 2030 goals for our oceans
and the Baltic Sea Action Plan" Video-message

## Mr. Kimmo Tiilikainen, Minister of the Environment, Energy and Housing of Finland

"The Priorities of the Finnish HELCOM Chairmanship and the future of the Baltic Sea Action Plan"

## Ms. Camilla Gunell, Deputy Prime Minister of the Åland Islands and Minister for Trade, Environment and Energy.

"Sustainability Strategy of the Åland Islands as a best-practice example for the Baltic Sea Region"

Ms. Ottilia Thoreson, Director, WWF Baltic Ecoregion Programme "Baltic Sea Scorecard and the need for stringent action"

Mr. Marc Klaus, Race for the Baltic, Baltic Sea City Accelerator "Private Engagement for a healthy Baltic Sea and a better Environment"

Mr. Jari Nahkanen, Chairman CPMR Baltic Sea Commission, "Co-operation among Regions in the Baltic Sea"

Panel Debate moderated by Mr. Simon Holmström from ReGeneration 2030.

## 17.30-18.30 Meeting of the BSPC Drafting Committee (if necessary) *Ålands Lagting, Plenary Hall*

## 19.00 Cultural Event and Dinner hosted by the President of the Åland Lagting Venue: Ålands sjöfartsmuseum (Åland Maritime Museum), Hamngatan 2

- Cocktail in the Museum hosted by the Town of Mariehamn, represented by the chairman of the Town Board **Mr. Tage Silander**
- Dinner in Restaurant Nautical (above the Museum) (The museum is open from 18.30 and dinner starts at 19.30)

### Tuesday, 28 August

## 09.30-12.00 THIRD SESSION

#### Sustainable Energy, Smart energy distribution platforms

Chair: Valentina Pivnenko, MP, Russian Federation Co-Chair: Karin Gaardsted, MP, Denmark

Next generation electrical grids – Pilot projects in Baltic Sea Region

- **Mr. Berndt Schalin**, Senior Advisor, Government of Åland "The Future Fossil Free Energy System on Åland"
- Mr. Reinis Āboltiņš, Senior Adviser on Energy, Latvia
   "Challenges to Sustainable Energy in the Baltic Sea Region"

Coffee Break

#### **General Debate**

Open forum for speeches from the parliamentarians with possibility for discussions.

## 12.00 CLOSING OF THE 27<sup>th</sup> BSPC

Chair: Mr Jörgen Pettersson, MP, Åland, President of the BSPC Co-Chair: Mr Jorodd Asphjell, MP, Norway, Vice-President of the BSPC

- Administrative matters
- Adoption of the Conference Resolution
- Address by the incoming President of the BSPC 2018-2019
- Presentation of Next Year's Host Country

#### 13:00 Lunch outside the Plenary Hall

Transfers to the Airport or Ferry terminal